Too Big To Jail?

As documented in the film, “Inside Job” (2010), after years of deregulation and concentration, by 2008 US financial institutions were considered too big to fail — so large and interc0nnected that their failure could destabilize the entire global financial system.  This state of affairs was said to create moral hazard, a tendency to take undue risks due to the expectation of bailouts.

Could a similar dynamic be at work in the domain of criminal justice?  The graph below attempts to diagram what’s called America’s “theft-to-punishment inflection point.”   What does it mean? Is the logic compelling?

One response to “Too Big To Jail?

  1. Professor,
    I posted my first blog just now. I don’t see it though, and I don’t know how to place it in the soc331 section. Can you help me please? Do you even see my post? Please get back to me when you can.
    Thanks!
    Sharon Spiegel

Leave a Reply

