Blog 2: George Herbert Mead : “Me” and “I”

The ‘I’ and the ‘me’ are theories Mead explains. The terms refer to the psychology of the individual. In Mead’s understanding, the ‘me’ is the socialized aspect of the person. It is what is learned in interaction with others and with the environment. This includes knowledge about who he or she is and his or her ‘sense of self’, based on the responses one receives from other people. If others respond to the person as a woman, the person develops a sense of herself as a woman.

The ‘I’ is the creative and active aspect of the person. The ‘I’ acts creatively, though within the context of the ‘me’. Mead notes that it is only after we act or speak that we know what we were going to do or say. Overall, the ‘I’ and the ‘me’ form the person or the ‘self’, in Mead’s social philosophy.  To basically break it down, the “I”-is subjective, imaginative and creative. The “Me” is objective, the part that is largely formed through reaction to others. The concept of “me” enables the individual to regulate the behavior of “I”.

3 responses to “Blog 2: George Herbert Mead : “Me” and “I”

  1. I really like this post by the blogger because he/she does a great job when it comes to explaining the ‘I’ and the ‘me’ from Mead’s theories. The ‘I’ and ‘me’ refers to the psychology of us people and how we interact with the surrounding environment. The blogger claims that the ‘me’ is objective and the ‘I’ is subjective and creative.

  2. I enjoyed reading this post as well because it helped me understand what was taught in class about the difference between “me” and “I” and how they make up a person’s “self”, and how we establish ourselves .

  3. very well said, I really like the way you explain the diffenrnt between “i” and “me” it really help me and im sure everyone else unerderstand the those words ” which one is exacatly subject and which one is objeact.

Leave a Reply

