Blog #4- Society’s Creation of the “I” & “Me”

In the Introduction to “Self” mead discus’s the concepts of the “I”, “me”, and the “generalized other”, and their conceptualization of self-consciousness. Mead thinks that people have the ability to be both subject and object to ones self, which occurs through interactions. An individual is aware of himself as an object not directly but indirectly. The “me” part of us, is the way that we believe others view us. It is not how we view ourselves, but what we see when we look in a mirror (or what we think other people view of us). The “I” part of us is the one who is the one looking into the mirror, it is the “response of the individual to the attitudes of others”.

Mead believes that every person is divided into different compartments that come out in different social scenarios. I believe is correct on this. Every person I know has a different demeanor in different settings. Whether in school, at work, or with friends, all the actions of the individuals will be different. However I believe that it is society that expects us to act differently are these situations and therefore we act accordingly. I don’t think that the “me” or “I” are the ones creating the differences in actions. Rather it is society that does so.

3 responses to “Blog #4- Society’s Creation of the “I” & “Me”

  1. I think your point and what Mead is getting at is really interesting. It’s so true how different scenarios effect our course of actions. It almost seems like each of us is living multiple lives. But it’s true, society expects us to behave in certain ways in different settings and we are required to shape ourselves into that mold.

  2. Its true that we all act a certain way depending on where we are and who we are with. I don’t know anyone who acts the same way when they are with their friends as when they are with their parents. As people we have the ability to change our personality’s based on different situations.

  3. Mead makes a great point here because people do not act the same in different settings. It is impossible to always act a certain way in different scenarios. I agree with the idea of “Me” accorrding to Mead because people view us differently than we view ourselves for “I”. “I” is what we see in ourselves as oppose to what someone else sees in us.

Leave a Reply

