Blog #5 – Me, Myself and I

After learning about Mead’s Me, Myself and I, I feel that I understand the term better. I have been hearing this term all through my life because of the media and I never understood its meaning. There is a movie titled Me, Myself and Irene, and there are songs with the same title. One song is Beyonce’s song Me, Myself and I. More recently Kelly Clarkson has a song titled Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) and in the songs lyrics it states Me, Myself and I. Mead helped me figure out the meaning of Me, Myself and I.

According to Mead, The Self exists as self-consciousness. It is a reflective entity. The ‘Me’ is viewing ourselves as objects in the phase of the self called me ‘me’. The ‘Me’ is the person looking back at you in a mirror. You are looking at all the things society sees you as. The ‘I’ is unique to the individual. It gives individuals a degree of control over the way they fulfill social roles. The I is the intension of what you’re trying to do. This is how Mead’s Me, Myself and I fits into the media.

2 responses to “Blog #5 – Me, Myself and I

  1. I thought that the term ” Me, myself and I” was used in society to represent individuality. After reading Mead’s idea it makes perfect sense to me, that not all of these three words mean the same thing. Howver I agree with the idea that the “Me” is not necessarily what you think about yourself but instead how others view you.

  2. I really liked this post by the blogger and feel he/she did a great job explaing Mead’s “Me,myself and I”. The blogger compares Mead;s “me, myself and I” to various song titles and movies. The blogger states that the “I” is unique to ourselves becasue it sets us apart from someone else. We have control over ourselves and what we want to do with our life.

Leave a Reply

