Blog #4: Occupy Wall Street: what is to be done next?

The point that caught my attention the most is that Zizek argues that we can’t blame people or attitudes. It is the system that forces greed, and corruption that is to blame. I am not sure how I feel about that statement. Is this political economy, and system of capitalism solely the problem? I think the system does push people to be corrupt, but it is both a problem of the system as well as the people who under the system.  

I agree with the statement that Zizek quotes, that it “is not a crisis of capitalism, but a crisis of morality”. Financial capitalism and inequality have become a moral problem. It is this problem of morality that is at the fronts of the OWS protests. However, now that the protesting is done according to Zizek, we must continue to challenge the system. We need a new form of organization, a new economic structure.        

6 responses to “Blog #4: Occupy Wall Street: what is to be done next?

  1. “is not a crisis of capitalism, but a crisis of morality”

    From the very beginning of the movement when people were complaining about the 99% I never sympathized. We are, and always have been, a capitalist country. Capitalism dictates a free market where you can make money any way you want and if people will buy your product then cheers to you.

    People only cried foul recently because of the economic conditions. I understand that times are hard and it is difficult to afford anything because of the insane inflation, but there are many people that are working two jobs to get by. Yes, I understand that is difficult to find jobs but with experience it isn’t as difficult which is why any time you go to an advisor they tell you to volunteer in x place or y place – because employers will value that over someone who is unemployed but is sitting around doing nothing with their time.

    It shouldn’t be an issue of morality, if I worked hard to make millions of dollars then I shouldn’t be forced to share with those who haven’t pulled their weight in the world. If I went to college, then to medical school, to become a surgeon and work on call all the time but make a good amount of money it’s because with effort comes reward. Money doesn’t buy happiness (look at all those wealthy businessmen working all hours to finish tasks and never see their families) but many times people act like it does.

  2. I agree that the system forces greed. When politicians and congress are able to be bribed in order to pass certain laws the help corporations, government is eventually going to fall and it’s citizens in anger. Where is democracy when corporations can just buy off our Congressmens and politicians that are suppose to help the people of this country with laws but instead approve laws the only improve corporations? The police force that is suppose to protect and serve it’s citizens has also been “bought”, when policemen fight against their citizens while protests are happening.

  3. I do believe that the political economy and the system of capitalism are the ones to blame for crime in our society. The lack of an individuals needs like money and food, will lead to retaliation. People will do anything to survive and this economy isnt helping at all. the lack of jobs out there is a big cause of why people turn to crime or illegal acts.

  4. I agree with the blogger for the most part, although I do offer some criticism in that no matter how much change is involved and impacted, someone somewhere will still suffer no matter how good the new evolved and changed system is. I believe that even with a new economic structure or political system things will change, but there will always be those at the top and bottom of the food chain.

  5. The entire Occupy Wall Street situation is actually encouraging to me as a proactive citizen. I feel that so many Americans are plagued with indifference. I feel Americans distance themselves from political, social and cultural happenings that directly affect them without knowing that these things actually affect them. It is great to see the working class stand up and be proactive.

  6. I definitely agree with the blogger. Zizek’s main focus is on the system, but I do believe that it is strongly correlated with the people who run this system. However, I’m not sure if we will ever be able to make such a change because I think that it would be seemingly impossible. America would be in an uproar. I also agree with melody, I don’t feel bad for the 99% who are unemployed. I think that if they really tried relentlessly, they could find a job. It may not be the best job, but at least they’d be employed and it’d be easier for them to get by and strive towards something better for themselves. I actually remember in the news when the whole OWS movement started, that the 1% was throwing copies of McDonald’s applications out of the windows of their office buildings. Cruel and unnecesary, yes. But I think they were trying to get a point across and defend themselves.

Leave a Reply

