Post #3 on Gilman

Its interesting how Gilman brings up about gender inequality. For instance she says, “One of the first things we force upon the child’s dawning consciousness is the fact that he is a boy and that she is a girl,” she gives an example of parents buying clothes for their child depending on the gender. It’s so natural for us to differentiate gender by buying pink clothes for girls and blue clothes for the boys. As we all know, from Gilman’s time to present, a lot has changed publicly in the society regarding gender, as in people would still consider a woman a female even if she only wore pants, hanged out with more men than women, and doesn’t wear pink. However for children, I think depending on the parent there’s less freedom for a child to behave the way he or she wants to. For example some mother’s who bring their daughters to toy stores will automatically bring them to the “girly” section. However if one’s daughter wanted an action figure rather than a doll, a mother’s reaction and response wouldn’t be so pleasant as her daughter, who already made up her mind on what she wanted. The mother turning out this way is probably from being used to what generally society perceives a young girl as, when it comes to playing.

2 responses to “Post #3 on Gilman

  1. I agree for the most part, but I feel like this applies more to boys. I know many parents who won’t allow their son to play with girls’ toys, but will encourage their daughter to play sports or allow them to play with toy cars. In my opinion, a child should be able to choose what they want to play with, but parents don’t really give them much of an option – perhaps because they are afraid that their child will be judged by other children or parents.

  2. I do agree to an extent about how children have no choice in their gender roles because of parents, but I also feel that media effects them much more. You see commercials with only girls playing with girls toys and boys playing with boys toys, so children see that and think “I’m a girl that the toy for me” or vice versa.

    I use to think it was more on the parents, until I watched my niece grew up. My brother and sister-in-law tried everything to gender neutralized everything for her. Safari room, less pink clothing, having a mix of girls and boy toys. But when she was finally able to speak and make up her own mind she choose everything girly and even insist on dressing like a princess for dinner every night. When I asked her why on a lot of the questions, it was because “that’s what girls do [on TV].”

    So I do feel that even though parents do play a major role, I think media plays a bigger role.

Leave a Reply

