Blog#2: That’s Racist

Image

 

        Racism, by definition, a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race. Today in class we listened to a podcast on how the term “racist” is being used. I feel that it is used out of context and people (especially children) use it way to much. In the podcast we heard that a teacher told a kid to go to class and the kid said “that’s racist” or when a teacher assigns homework the students said “that’s racist”. To me I feel that people always want to play the victim card, because that is their way of getting out of everything. Whether or not they are really being discriminated against can be decided, but the way children(or even sometimes adults) throw this word around is kind of disgusting. I work in a pharmacy and we do not have a sign that says the “line starts here” so when it gets busy the customers do not form lines they scatter around the register which sometimes can make me feel over whelmed. I one time did not know who was their first and I helped an HIspanic man before helping a Caucasian man and the Caucasian man said that I was being racist and that he was going to sue the store, because I didn’t help him first and apparently he was there first. At the time I was only 16 years old, I didn’t even know what to say and all I started to do was cry. 

     The word racist, people sometimes do not know how serious it can be. I feel that we do struggle in today’s society with people being prejudice and discriminating against other races and because sometimes people do take it way to far than necessary; when a child is throwing that word around they clearly were not brought up properly. As adults, teachers, and parents, it should be an important topic to be discussed with young ones and for them to know that being racist is not a cool thing to be or use that word out of context, because you might say it to the wrong person and then things get out of control. 

Image

4 responses to “Blog#2: That’s Racist

  1. There us a difference between racism and prejudice.

    Minorities do not have the power to be racists, they can however be prejudice. Timothy wise is a very intelligent man that breaks this down further on how racism goes beyond just “I think I’m better than you”

  2. I beg to differ with the above comment. Minorities absolutely have the power to be racist and it can be most effective. Just because minorities have taken the majority of the brunt of racism, doesn’t, mean they do not have the power to bee racist. The definition of racism is as follows: is usually defined as views, practices and actions reflecting the belief that humanity is divided into distinct biological groups called races and that members of a certain race share certain attributes which make that group as a whole less desirable, more desirable, inferior or superior.

  3. I also firmly disagree with the first comment; I believe that minorities are subject to racism or institutions that foster racism & prejudice. Are they equally subject to these to this than their non-minority counterparts? I would argue that history has shown us that the answer to that question is “No.” I have always been one to see racism as a form of prejudice.

  4. i think people are confused with what racist really is and that is why lately it has become such a common phrase. I think children and even adults use it to be funny when it shouldnt be like that, or they use it loosely to describe when someone isnt giving them what they want in a way or allowing them to do something. I think society give power to words and they really need to be careful how they use it.

Leave a Reply

