Video

A girl like me (Post 4)

It’s heartbreaking to know that till this day, kids as young as 5 are taught that the color of a doll defines how good or bad or how pretty or ugly it is. Most kids even black kids said that the white doll is the prettiest and the black doll is bad. It’s sad knowing that parents allow their kids to think its right to believe that way. They grow up thinking its okay to judge a person by their color from very young age, when they start playing with dolls. I appreciate how I was raised, my mother would buy me dolls of every color, my mother always told me when I was young that all the dolls were the same, equal and no doll in particular was better. But in general there isn’t as many parents like my own that tell their kids how to think not what to think.

7 responses to “A girl like me (Post 4)

  1. I’ve seen that experiment as a doucmentary years ago. I necessarily would not blame the parents per se. There is a larger picture to look at. This self hatred stems from slavery. For generations, African Americans were made to feel inferior and less than others. They were considered 1/5 a man. They were considered animals. There were and still are caricatures of African American people (symbols), such as mammies, uncles Toms and bafoons, the list goes on.
    White society has even pitted the lighter skin African Americans against the darker skin African Americans in the job market, school, etc. The lighter skin slaves were the house slaves, meaning they took care of master’s children, cook, cleaned and all the domestic work. The darker skin slaves were in the field working.
    So fast forward to the not so distance past and conduct experiments like the above YouTube video, of course the child who does not know better and his/her parents suffered racial discrimination and was fed daily doses of self hating images, the results will be what you found on that video. Let’s not forget Madison Avenue and the whole European influence. When you bombarded certain images of lighter skin over darker skin over and over again, you will find the results in the YouTube video, just like the whole weight issues of thin is better than fat.
    So like I said, I would not necessarily blame the parents. Those parents probably did not even have a clue that their child or children felt that way. Self hatred is so covert and embedded into one’s psyche. However, that video was from the 1950s or 1960s, things have certainly progressed since then. Things, however, are not ideal, but if that same experiment was conducted in 2013, I am sure the results would be a lot different.

  2. I strongly agree with all that was previous stated. It is really fascinating to see something such as the color of dolls and what they represent mean to girls and society as a whole generation after generation. I do believe a large part of how we view others and how others view us derives from what we have been taught in our younger (more innocent) days. We did not realize it then but now that we are more older and wiser, we can really think about it and see exactly how important and crucial personal relationships were to our upbringing and in shaping who we are today. Every person we come across leaves an imprint on us, whether small or big, and sometimes that imprint can be negatively impacted or positively. If we were taught to discriminate or prefer something over something else when we were younger because of someone we loved or looked up to said so, it is highly likely that we too would have the same bias and opinion. I admire so much how Disney, for example, always had dolls (princesses) that weren’t the “typical” barbie doll. You see little girls nowadays playing with dolls hailing from many countries and ethnicities and it all starts with the parents as the foundation to say “there is no such thing as just one type of doll.” It really does make all the difference in the world; something as minuscule as a barbie doll.

  3. This post completely sums up how my preschoolers are. In one of the play centers, we have dolls of all colors and ethnic backgrounds, but all of the little girls fight over the white dolls. The head teacher and I had a sit down lesson with them on how everyone is different. They do not fight as much for the white doll, but it is still an issue. I grew up with parents just like yours, and it is very important for young children now to learn not to discriminate.

  4. working with children is difficult as it is and trying to explain that people come from different countries and different backgrounds is very difficult when you work with toddlers who are 2-3 years of age. in the many workshops I have gone to it was suggested to have multicultural toys, dolls , books in different languages, etc. but I must say that in the five years that I have been working with children I have been surprised by parents who discriminate and judge others, and makes me wonder how us as care givers and teachers can break that cycle

  5. Unfortunately racism and the views of parents are passed down to their children. This is so sad because the people of today shape the future generation. I was brought up the same way with my parents teaching me how all people are equal, my mother too bought me different race or color dolls to teach me that everyone is different and can be appreciated in different ways. This is how we should teach our future generation to be open minded, not pass on ignorant and close minded ways of thinking.

  6. I totally agree I wanted to bring this up in class the other day. It’s so sad and disturbing that a child that has little to no understanding can be taught such an ignorant ideology. I once saw in a show an African American little girl who only believed that white Barbies where pretty and that black Barbies were ugly. I was completely baffled that a child learned to identify something as beautiful or ugly simply based on color. The child wanted to start bleaching her skin to be the “right color” this was so shocking to me and sadly enough like posted in an early post this “self hatred” attitude has been embedded in the minds of our children everywhere and it’s so unfortunate that there still exist ignorant parents who do still teach their children that “white is right” and white supremacy and this is just so horribly wrong because these kids are our future.

  7. I completely agree with what you said here. It really made me sad to see that these children thought that the doll were bad or ugly based on its skin color. I was upset even more when I realized that the children perceived themselves in the same negative manner.

Leave a Reply

