Link

Blog #3 Will the expectations for women ever change?

dcd

I’ve seen these all over the internet for quite awhile and never really had a second thought about them. I just thought people that had nothing better to do were being online trolls. However, today while in another class someone really opened my eyes to the fact that even though we live in such modern times there are still people that view women as inferior to men.

While discussing a medieval text, my professor asked why something bad happened to the King’s wife, he was referring to sloth. However, a male student made the comment “it’s because she should have been in the kitchen making dinner.” I along with the rest of the class just stared in disbelief that someone would actually say something like that so seriously in a class full of women. It’s really disheartening knowing that these views are still pretty much second nature to some.

4 responses to “Blog #3 Will the expectations for women ever change?

  1. It really is disgusting that many men still have these views and expectations on women. I thought it was just in my culture, but this seems to be expected of women all over the world. The sad part is, is that things were like this hundreds of years ago and some people have not modernized their ways and views. Women go to school and work nowadays and some men still believe that their place is in the kitchen. I believe that for some people, these views will never change.

  2. You have to understand that this idea of women are inferior to men
    has existed maybe over thousands of years throughout many cultures. It is not easy to get rid of it entirely in just few decades. However, I do believe that as people get more educated and they will finnally realized that an equal sign can be put between man and woman,but it is going to take some time. So I guess patience is necessary.

  3. I also find it really disgusting how men think of women and they find it funny but yet theyre serious. I seen a lot of memes on facebook about a womans place being in the kitchen which is not true. Woman have grown to be educated and independent individuals not how it was before where women had to stay home and take care of their children. Sometimes I believe that men just cant accept the fact that we’re on their level and can do whatever they can do.

  4. Most of the people who say things such as this are joking. At least that would be my impression. If they are not kidding around then there is a far more serious situation which I have realized. But I can not honestly say I know anyone who genuinely enforces sexual stereotypes and believes them to be true.

Leave a Reply

