Post #3: Response to “Drawing Blood:Being a Poor Person in America”

Image

This blog post is probably one of the most realest things I have ever read. I think what made me like it so much is that I can somehow relate in a way, but not to their extent. No matter how hard a person works, it sometimes just feels like its never good enough. The author of this post spoke about how when people ask them what his parents do he will say that his mother used to be a phlebotomist and now is a caregiver and his dad owned a bar before he passed away. The author began to write about how his mother had not been a phlebotomist in over ten years and his father did not work for years before he passed away. The reason for these lies is because of class shame. To say that you are one thing and not another is because you are afraid of what other people might think.

The author mentioned how he would give his mom money to help make ends meat and she would also do the same sometimes. I know the feeling, because I started working when I was 15 so that I can help pay for things around the house. I started off working 3 or 4 days a week when I was a sophomore in high school and now at the age of 22, I still work there and am up to working 6 days, 50 hours a week and attending school full time. It’s not the easiest, but I know I have to do it to help my family. I know the feeling that although I am working as much as possible I still feel like I don’t make enough or do enough; so I picked up a second job on Sundays to make more money.

Some people were lucky enough to be more privileged than others; having 2 parents that work and that are able to give them whatever they need whenever they wanted it. Unfortunately the only time I got something, most of the time, unless it was a holiday or my birthday, was when I bought it for myself. I know this teaches responsibility, but at the same time some people don’t know what it is like to have to live paycheck to paycheck so that they can keep their head above water.

I think the author of this blog brought up very good points. When he said “one day I will be a university professor, I will have paid back my student loans and debts, and I won’t be part of the working class anymore,” this made me smile because of how motivated he is. I would obviously want the same thing for myself, minus the university professor, but what I want is to be financially comfortable so that my children do not have to experience what I have had to over the past years.

Image

Life is too short to wake up with regrets. So love the people who treat you right. Forget about the one’s who don’t. Believe things happen for a reason. If you get a second chance, grab it with both hands. If it changes your life, let it. Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.

Leave a Reply

