Suicide

Blog #1

Suicide is the act of taking one’s own life. Many people commit suicide for many different reasons. These reasons include drug abuse, alcoholism, mental disorders, financial difficulties, and relationship problems. The common methods used in taking one’s own life are hanging, poisoning, and firearms. Emile Durkheim believed that people committed suicide because their was a lack of connections between people and a lack of regulations of behavior, rather than individuals’ feelings and motivations. 

Here are some interesting facts about suicide: about 800,000 to a million people die each year from committing suicide. Suicide is the 10th leading cause of death worldwide. The rates of suicide are higher in men than women, with men three to four times more likely to kill themselves than females. In the world today, their are about 10-20 million non fatal suicide attempts each year. These attempts are more common in young people and females. I was also surprised to find out in class that Latin females are more likely to commit suicide than white males/females, black males/females, and asian males/females.

As I am sitting here, trying to figure out what else to write about suicide, I come across this girls facebook status. The status reads “as I was walking to the bus stop, I passed some kid who I see everyday, and just smiled at him. He ran up to me and looked really upset. He asked me, do you think I’m nice and I replied you seem like a nice person. Then he asked do you think I’m attractive and I said yes. Then all of a sudden he asked am I worthless, dumb, naive, a faggot, ugly, nobody, disappointment? I didn’t know what to say. Then he goes why are people liars? He called me a liar because I told him he wasn’t any of those things. Then he started crying and gave me a hug and said thank you. I asked what did i do? He replied I was gonna go home and kill myself. I told him not to and he said its hard because everyone hates me. I told him that I don’t hate him and then he hugged me and walked away.” I was in shock when I read this status. We really don’t know what goes on behind close doors. We have all these theories explaining why people commit suicide and how to prevent it from happening, but maybe if we just be nice to people, and talk to them, or just smile, it can make a difference.     

 

3 responses to “Suicide

  1. Comment 3:
    i agree with you that many people commit egoistic suicide. Like you said, if you do not have the coolest car, clothing or gadget, you are looked down upon. People would sometimes make fun of you for not having the newest thing. It is not that your parents do not want to get it for you, but because they are unable to. Also, I agree with your example of New York City. A hello or a smile can show someone that you are aware of their existence can sometime make someone change their mind of jumping onto the subway tracks to commit suicide because they thought that no one cared.

  2. Comment 3:
    Wow, the facts on suicide surprised me. I didnt know that about 800.000 to a million people die each year from commiting suicide. I also was surprised from finding out that Latin females were more likely to commit suicide. Upon reading the part about the facebook status, I agree. We really do not know what goes on behind close doors. Sometimes people say they are going to kill themselves and people laugh at it thinking that it is a joke when all the person want is for someone to tell them not to do it because they are important in their lives. They just want to feel like they belong somewhere.

  3. Nice integration of theory and empirical data, both macro and micro. As you note, Durkheim was interested in identifying the social roots of suicide in modern society — lack of social integration, or *egoism*, and lack of moral regulation, or *anomie*. To be clear, he doesn’t argue that individual motivations are irrelevant, only that these social conditions — social pathologies of modern life — give rise to the individual (proximate) causes of suicide such as mental illness or drug abuse.

Leave a Reply

