Gilman and gender inequality

Even though many may think that we have come a long way through the years and men and women are treated and viewed as equal, this is also somewhat false.  I do agree that women have stepped up in the society over the years by holding prestigious jobs, and being allowed equal rights, there is also room for inequality.  For example, in the work place, women are more likely to experience sexual harassment.  This has been an ongoing issue in many fields, which often lead to voluntary termination.  A woman should not feel fear when walking into their place of work.  Also, a personal experience of mine occurs in my prior place of work.  I worked in a restaurant and my owner only hired girls.  He had the mindset that girls looked better cleaning and would look more attractive, therefore bringing in more customers.  A job shouldnt be about gender discrimination and appearance, it should be about hard work.

5 responses to “Gilman and gender inequality

  1. Great points. I am actually shocked that your boss would only hire females as waitresses. That is sort of a “weird” mindset, but I guess we do still see some sense of gender inequality. If the reason was that girls “looked” better cleaning, rather than “did a better job” cleaning, that should be considered some type of illegal action… No one should get hired for looks. That is just wrong. I have had many male waiters before and they do a great job!

  2. I strongly agree with the points you have made and i also am familiar with the job situation that you are speaking of. I used to work in retail at a clothing store and the majority of people working were women, the reason being that my managers would say that attractive women would attract customers into the store and could persuade the male customers who were the ones to usually spend more, to spend a lot more than they planned to when they first walked in the store. This is definenlty a very sexist mind frame that is still seen in society today

  3. I agree with your statement that “a job shouldn’t be about discrimination and appearance, it should be about hard work.” If you work hard at something and are really good at it than it shouldn’t matter whether your are male or female. As long as you get the job done, that is all that should really count. I also work in a restaurant and the majority of the employees are women.

  4. I agree with your statement that “a job shouldn’t be about discrimination and appearance, it should be about hard work.” If you work hard at something and are really good at it than it shouldn’t matter whether your are male or female. As long as you get the job done, that is all that should really count. I also work in a restaurant and the majority of the employees are women.

  5. I have to agree with your post on how we have come a long way through the years and men and women are treated and viewed as equal, but there are still some inequalities in the workplace. For example, when I used to work at a restaurant, I applied for the host position and they told me that they only hire women for that job because they would rather have a women greet the customers first. They told me that I could apply for being a waiter or a bus boy. This is one example of the gender inequalities that we are stil facing today.

Leave a Reply

