Blog #1 distribution of wealth and it’s inequality

I was surprised by the findings of these two videos, because as a student working a part time job it’s a bit of a reality shock that makes me question the path I choose to travel as far as success and security. I know what I’m expecting and what I will deal with in that aspect. It is my hope with my education I will be able to do “better” later on in life. The “Wealth in America” makes me believe otherwise, the way the distribution of wealth was broken down gives me a clearer understanding of the economy and it’s a very scary thing. It makes me feel as though my life won’t be what I think it will be even if I work my hardest for better. I don’t find it surprising how people believed the wealth was distributed because honestly it’s not something most people think about on a everyday basis. You don’t think too much about how how and why it’s unfair, but you acknowledge that it’s hard. These videos give insight into why it is though.

One thing I heard in the one of the videos is that “Warren Buffet stated that the U.S. Was in a class war and his class (the super rich) won. It makes you think that if he knows this and there’s no change it’s as if this knowledge doesn’t matter. This statement may very well hold true and it isn’t by any means a secret.

2 responses to “Blog #1 distribution of wealth and it’s inequality

  1. Even if Warren Buffett believed that that his class won the class war, he’s mistaking. They have only won a few battle but the war is still undecided because our generations and future generations still work hard and are more innovative so, we still can change the tide of capitalism in the favor of the working class.

  2. Candid, engaging response, D. You articulate what I think a lot of people — especially those pursuing higher education,which is held out as a means of upward mobility — feel when faced with these inequality stats (the story of the professional woman with a graduate degree seems to have stuck out to many students).

    Indeed, it;s interesting that it was the billionaire Warren Buffet who acknowledged *class struggle*, in Marx’s terms. But this is not the kind of class struggle that Marx hoped for, where only the ruling class is *conscious” of its class interest and position and is therefore “winning.”

Leave a Reply

